The Puzzle in the Packaging Supplies

Probably eighty-percent of the population have heard about Wheel of Fortune.  Even if someone has never even seen an episode (likely most of the younger folks running around these days, I’m sure), they would still know that the show existed.  I mean, Wheel of Fortune is the Star Trek of game shows.  You may have never seen an episode of Star Trek (like myself), but you would still know what it was and you would still be able to say that Spock and Captain Kirk were main characters.

I remember sitting on my grandfather’s lap while he watched the show.  Wheel of Fortune, not Star Trek.  It was fascinating to me how this whole game revolved around spinning a wheel, which would allow someone to guess a letter in whatever mystery word or phrase.  I remember the click of the wheel, and lucky So-and-So would want by a D, but then the buzzer would sound and everyone would groan because, alas, there were no Ds in the puzzle!

IMG_1889 (1)

My cousin and her husband religiously watch the show every night after they put their toddler to bed.  Not only are they unashamed about this, but you might even say they are a little addicted.  This is because they ask their friends if it’s okay for them to turn on the show when it’s time for them to eat.  Most people don’t understand this need, including myself, but how can you say no without then feeling uncomfortable sitting in silence?  Like Pat Sajak is scolding you from every corner of the room…

It’s my cousin that sent me the screenshot of a puzzle one day and told me to figure it out.  I was convinced that the two-word phrase would have to do with our long history together.  Technically, I was right.  After not being able to guess what it was, and finding out that it was packaging supplies, it was obviously a piece of our history but not so long-since-past that I was assuming it would be.  As a matter of fact, it was quite recent.  How could packaging supplies be in our history, you might ask?  Well, she used to write about packaging supplies and now I do, and so both of us should have gotten the puzzle correct immediately.  However, neither one of us did, so I’m not sure what that says about us.  However, it does say a lot about packaging supplies for making it onto a show like Wheel of Fortune.

The Puzzle in the Packaging Supplies

Leave a comment